Review: The Key to You and Me by Jaye Robin Brown.

Blurb

A sweet and funny #ownvoices LGBTQ+ romance perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Julie Murphy, from the critically acclaimed author of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit!

Piper Kitts is spending the summer living with her grandmother, training at the barn of a former Olympic horseback rider, and trying to get over her ex-girlfriend. Much to Piper’s dismay, her grandmother is making her face her fear of driving head-on by taking lessons from a girl in town.

Kat Pearson has always suspected that she likes girls but fears her North Carolina town is too small to color outside the lines. But when Piper’s grandmother hires Kat to give her driving lessons, everything changes.

Piper’s not sure if she’s ready to let go of her ex. Kat’s navigating uncharted territory with her new crush. With the summer running out, will they be able to unlock a future together?



Review

This is such a cute finding yourself and coming out story.

Kat is such an intriguing character, the adult in so many ways, helping bring up her siblings in the absence of her mother, helping her father out at work, looking for ways to earn some money of her own. But when it comes to relationships, love, and sexuality she feels like she is being left behind her younger sister, cousin, and peers. They know who they are and what they want, but she doesn’t. Plus, would the small-town gossips be accepting of her if she did come out?

Piper knows her sexuality and is completely open about it, she has more experience in love but is hung up on an ex-girlfriend. Piper is still very much in the pocket of her parents and needs to gain some independence and go for what she wants in life.

When Piper moves in with her grandmother for the summer (in Kat’s hometown) the two of them become friends, go on a journey of discovery (together as well as separately), finding what they want from their lives.

I found Kat and Piper’s interactions cute and relatable, I enjoyed the ‘slow burn romance’, as well as how the ‘will they won’t they’ unfolded. I loved the side characters of Emma and Elliot, they added a bit of spark and fun into Kat’s somewhat ‘vanilla’ life. Lou was a bit of a scoundrel but entirely realistic, especially as she is a bit older, not everyone is cute and innocent! With each chapter alternating between Kat and Piper’s perspectives it was an excellent way to see how the other interpreted their actions and what was said.

This book is a fun and enjoyable YA read, the kind of book I wish had been around when I was a teen.

Thank you to HarperCollins and Edelweiss+ for the e-arc to review.


Jaye Robin Brown, or JRo to her friends, has been many things in her life–jeweler, mediator, high school art teacher–but now writes full-time. She lives with her wife, dogs, cats, and horses in a sweet house in NC horse country where she hopes to live happily ever after. She is the author of NO PLACE TO FALL, WILL’S STORY, GEORGIA PEACHES AND OTHER FORBIDDEN FRUIT, THE MEANING OF BIRDS, and THE KEY TO YOU AND ME. 

Publisher : HarperTeen (20 April 2021)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s