Review: After The Rain by Natália Gomes

Blurb

‘We’re alive. So let’s start living.’

Two strangers

Jack was sporty and outgoing. Alice was bookish and introverted. Their lives were on completely different paths.

One life-changing tragedy

That is before the day they were in the wrong place at the wrong time: before the day their lives were torn apart in a bombing.

A hopeful new friendship

Struggling to cope with their new worlds, their unlikely new friendship helps them find hope. But can they help each other rebuild their lives and start again?

Powerful and compelling After the Rain is the brand-new novel from Natália Gomes, perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.

Review

I was refreshingly surprised by After the Rain, looking at how a tragic event can affect someone physically and mentally, pushing people apart and pulling them together.

The story follows Jack and Alice who are caught up in a bombing of Leicester Square. Jack is left with physical injuries and Alice with mental/psychological. 

We see how two young people, who are nothing alike and would never normally be friends, end up depending on each other due to the shared experiences and circumstances they were subjected to.

I felt the mental health aspects (PTSD, anxiety, depression) were handled well, openly, and honestly as experiences that can, and do, occur in life. This is a great book for young people to think about empathy and how events can change and shape their perspective and outlook on life.

I enjoyed watching Jack and Alice’s friendship build and grow, I have to admit I am so used to YA novels being about romance (or unrequited love), so I was expecting this to happen all the way throughout and was a little disappointed it didn’t happen. However, it didn’t need to for the plot! In fact, it is more poignant without the background fuss that a romance could create. Young people can be friends and care for each other without romance getting in the way!

This was a thoroughly enjoyable, page-turner of a YA book.

Thank you to Netgalley and HQ Young Adult for the e-arc to review.

Author Bio

ND Gomes is originally from Scotland, but spent ten years living in America working as an educator in the public school districts.

She has an M.Ed. in Education and is working towards an MLitt. in Scottish Literature and Creative Writing.

She loves to read a variety of YA and adult fiction in all genres, and is always on the lookout for a new book recommendation. ND Gomes has an enthusiasm for books, travel, photography, yoga, vegetarian cooking, and spending time with her family, friends, and chocolate Labrador.

Her YA debut DEAR CHARLIE and second novel BLACKBIRD is published by HarperCollins imprint HQ in the UK.

ND Gomes is represented by Silvia Molteni at Peters, Fraser and Dunlop.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s