Review: The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

Blurb

A secret hidden in the past.

A family bound by a dark legacy…

‘What a fascinating story. I enjoyed every moment of it. Intriguing and with a lovely time-slippery twist’ Barbara Erskine, Sunday Times bestselling author

Ever since her sister disappeared eleven years ago, Serena Warren has been running from a ghost, haunted by what she can’t remember about that night.

When Caitlin’s body is discovered, Serena returns to her grandfather’s house, nestled beside the ruins of Minster Lovell Hall in Oxfordshire, determined to uncover the truth. But in returning to the place of her childhood summers, Serena stands poised at the brink of a startling discovery – one that will tie her family to a centuries-old secret…

Taking readers from the present day to the Wars of the Roses in the 1400s, and with an enthralling mystery at its heart, The Last Daughter is a spellbinding novel about family secrets, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton.

Review

This has to be a contender for my favourite book this year!

Having read the blurb and knowing that part of the book is set in the Wars of the Roses I was instantly interested. I am loving anything from that era at the moment, although I was a little dubious at the time-slip element with the present day. I didn’t need to worry, I was instantly gripped with the plot and couldn’t get through the book fast enough, eager to find out more. 

The plot works amazingly well, between the present-day mystery surrounding Caitlin’s disappearance and the 15th Century mystery of the lodestar. It is exciting to read as events are uncovered and links are made between the two timelines. I felt invested in both Anne and Serena’s stories, although I have to admit to preferring Anne’s just a little more, that is just my personal preference due to my love of that period in history.

I enjoyed that the author took historical events and told them from a completely different and fresh perspective with brilliant fictional twists, I’ve found myself half believing this could be true!! I am going to have to read some more into Francis Lovell and Anne FitzHugh now, as well as their branch of the Neville family. 

Everything was just perfect, the writing, the pacing, the plot, the characters. Literally everything I want in a book. It is a fascinating and immersive read, I didn’t want to put it down, or for it to end!

Buy Links

Author Bio

Nicola Cornick is a historian and author who works as a volunteer researcher and guide for the National Trust in one of the most beautiful 17th century houses in England. She writes dual time novels that illustrate her love of history, mystery and the supernatural. Her books have appeared in over twenty five languages, sold over half a million copies worldwide and been described as perfect for Outlander fans. Nicola also works as a consultant for TV and radio.

Nicola loves to chat to readers about history, reading and writing.

Join the conversation on Twitter @NicolaCornick,

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nicola.cornick/

and Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nicolacornick/

You can find Nicola’s website at http://www.nicolacornick.com where you can sign up for her newsletter to be first in line for events, news and exclusive chapters.

One thought on “Review: The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s